Pretty Good Number One: an American Family Eats Tokyo - Matthew Amster-burton - Bøger - Matthew Amster-Burton - 9780983162988 - April 12, 2014

Pretty Good Number One: an American Family Eats Tokyo

Matthew Amster-burton

Price
$ 17.49
Expected to be ready for shipping Oct 20 - 27

Our customers say:


Pretty Good Number One: an American Family Eats Tokyo

Publisher Marketing: Everyone knows how to live the good life in Paris, Provence, or Tuscany. Now, Matthew Amster-Burton makes you fall in love with Tokyo. Experience this exciting and misunderstood city through the eyes of three Americans vacationing in a tiny Tokyo apartment. Follow 8-year-old Iris on a solo errand to the world's greatest supermarket, picnic on the bullet train, and eat a staggering array of great, inexpensive foods, from eel to udon. A humorous travel memoir in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Bill Bryson, Pretty Good Number One is the next best thing to a ticket to Tokyo. Now with a new afterword by the author, covering robotic sushi and spending the holidays in Tokyo. "The layers of the city, its extraordinary food pleasures, its quirkinesses, emerge as the author and his family spend an intense month living in Tokyo and exploring widely... Warning: this book will make you hungry. You'll yearn, as I do, to catch the next plane to Tokyo, so you can get eating." -Naomi Duguid, writer and traveler; her most recent book is BURMA: Rivers of Flavor (Artisan 2012) "This is the book I've been hoping Matthew would write: smart, opinionated, and wickedly funny, crammed with in-the-know tips and observations about visiting Tokyo. From the intricacies of garbage sorting to the chirpy jingle for the local supermarket, the pleasures of pan-fried soup dumplings to the pain of junsai, I laughed, cringed, and got so hungry that I had to eat three bowls of cereal to make it to the end. I love this book." -Molly Wizenberg, author of A Homemade Life and blogger, Orangette Contributor Bio:  Amster-Burton, Matthew Matthew Amster-Burton is a restaurant critic, food writer, and former rock journalist with credits in "The Best Food Writing", "The Seattle Times", "Gourmet", "Seattle Magazine", "San Francisco Chronicle", "Parent Map", culinate.com, and egullet.com as well as his food blog, Roots and Grubs. He lives in Seattle with his wife Laurie, a school librarian, and his daughter Iris.

Media Books     Paperback Book   (Book with soft cover and glued back)
Released April 12, 2014
ISBN13 9780983162988
Publishers Matthew Amster-Burton
Genre Cultural Region > Japanese
Pages 266
Dimensions 133 × 203 × 15 mm   ·   303 g
Language English  

Show all

More by Matthew Amster-burton