A Collection of Old English Plays, Volume Iv (Dodo Press) - A H Bullen - Bøger - Dodo Press - 9781409933649 - November 6, 2009

A Collection of Old English Plays, Volume Iv (Dodo Press)

A H Bullen

$ 29.49
Expected delivery Apr 28 - May 10

Also available as:

A Collection of Old English Plays, Volume Iv (Dodo Press)

Publisher Marketing: Contents include Two Tragedies in One by Robert Yarington, The Captives, or the Lost Recovered by Thomas Heywood, The Costlie Whore and Everie Woman in her Humor. Arthur Henry Bullen, often known as A. H. Bullen, (1857- 1920) was an English editor and publisher, and a specialist in 16th and 17th century literature. A. H. Bullen's interest in Elizabethan dramatists and poets started at the City of London School, before he went to Worcester College, Oxford to study classics. His publishing career began with a scholarly edition of the Works of John Day in 1881 and continued with a series of English Dramatists and a seven-volume set of Old English Plays, some of which he had discovered in manuscript and published for the first time. He was also the first person to publish some early lyric poems. Bullen wrote more than 150 articles for the Dictionary of National Biography, lectured on Elizabethan dramatists at Oxford University and taught at Toynbee Hall. In 1891 he and H. W. Lawrence went into partnership as the publishers Lawrence & Bullen. This lasted until 1900 when Bullen moved on to publish as A. H. Bullen. With Frank Sidgwick as partner, he then formed the Shakespeare Head Press and published a collected Shakespeare and collected Yeats from their base in Stratford-on-Avon.

Media Books     Paperback Book   (Book with soft cover and glued back)
Released November 6, 2009
ISBN13 9781409933649
Publishers Dodo Press
Genre Cultural Region > British Isles
Pages 390
Dimensions 152 × 229 × 22 mm   ·   571 g

Show all

More by A H Bullen