Volume 2 of the Collected Works of Marie-Louise von Franz - Marie-Louise Von Franz - Bøger - Chiron Publications - 9781630519513 - June 1, 2021

Volume 2 of the Collected Works of Marie-Louise von Franz

Marie-Louise Von Franz

$ 84.49
Expected to be ready for shipping Oct 25 - Nov 1

Our customers say:

Also available as:

Volume 2 of the Collected Works of Marie-Louise von Franz

The Collected Works of Marie-Louise von Franz is a 28 volume Magnum Opus from one of the leading minds in Jungian Psychology. Volume 1, released on her 106th birthday, is to be followed by 27 more volumes over the next 10 years. Volume 2 turns to the Hero's Journey within fairytales.

The Hero's Journey is about the great adventure that leads to a cherished and difficult to obtain prize. In these fairytales, the Self is often symbolized as that treasured prize and the hero's travails symbolize the process of individuation. In its many manifestations, the hero embodies the emerging personality. "In the conscious world, the hero is only one part of the personality-the despised part-and through his attachment to the Self in the unconscious is a symbol of the whole personality."

Von Franz's prodigious knowledge of fairytales from around the world demonstrates that the fairytale draws its root moisture from the collective realm. This volume continues where Volume 1 left off as von Franz describes the fairytale, "suspended between the divine and the secular worlds (...) creating a mysterious and pregnant tension that requires extreme power to withstand." The resistance of the great mother against the hero and his humble origins, as well as the hero freeing the anima figure from the clutches of the unconscious are universal archetypal patterns. The spoils retrieved by the hero symbolize new levels of consciousness wrested from the unconscious.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1. The Three Feathers

Chapter 2. The Poor Miller's Boy and the Cat

Chapter 3. Tritill, Litill, and the Birds

Chapter 4. The Devil with the Three Golden Hairs

Chapter 5. The King of the Golden Mountain

Chapter 6. Stupid Ivanko

Chapter 7. The Virgin Tsar

Chapter 8. The Blind Padishah

Chapter 9. The Boy and the Snake

Chapter 10. The Rose Maiden

Chapter 11. The Golden Bird

Chapter 12. The Golden Castle that Hung in the Air

Chapter 13. The Red Swan

Chapter 14. The Story of Djihanishah

Chapter 15. Djulek Batür

Chapter 16. The Magician Palermo

Chapter 17. Endings - the Meaning of the End of a Fairytale


Index of Authors

Index of Fairytales

Subject Index

Media Books     Hardcover Book   (Book with hard spine and cover)
Released June 1, 2021
ISBN13 9781630519513
Publishers Chiron Publications
Pages 478
Dimensions 156 × 234 × 30 mm   ·   907 g
Language English  

Show all

More by Marie-Louise Von Franz

If you like Marie-Louise Von Franz, then maybe...