Everybody Lies: What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are - Seth Stephens-Davidowitz - Books - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - 9781408894736 - April 19, 2018
In case cover and title do not match, the title is correct

Everybody Lies: What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are

Seth Stephens-Davidowitz

Price
$ 13.49

Ordered from remote warehouse

Expected delivery Jun 5 - 14
Add to your iMusic wish list

Everybody Lies: What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are

Perfect for fans of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point. Insightful, surprising and with ground-breaking revelations about our society, Everybody Lies exposes the secrets embedded in our internet searches, with a foreword by bestselling author Steven Pinker. Everybody lies, to friends, lovers, doctors, pollsters - and to themselves. In Internet searches, however, people confess their secrets - about sexless marriages, mental health problems, even racist views. Seth Stephens-Davidowitz, an economist and former Google data scientist, shows that this could just be the most important dataset ever collected. This huge database of secrets - unprecedented in human history - offers astonishing, even revolutionary, insights into humankind. Anxiety, for instance, does not increase after a terrorist attack. Crime levels drop when a violent film is released. And racist searches are no higher in Republican areas than in Democrat ones. Time and time again, data shows that the world works in precisely the opposite way to what we would expect. Stephens-Davidowitz reveals information we can use to change our culture, and the questions we're afraid to ask that might be essential to our health - both emotional and physical. Insightful, funny, and always surprising, Everybody Lies exposes the biases and secrets embedded deeply within us, at a time when things are harder to predict than ever. All of us are touched by big data every day, and its influence is multiplying.


352 pages

Media Books     Paperback Book   (Book with soft cover and glued back)
Released April 19, 2018
ISBN13 9781408894736
Publishers Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Genre English, Non-fiction, Misc.
Pages 352
Dimensions 196 × 128 × 23 mm   ·   282 g
Language English  

Show all

More by Seth Stephens-Davidowitz

Others have also bought